What happens when I delete a task status assigned to tasks and integrations?
Note: This feature is for zipBoard enterprise users. If you aren’t one but would like to try this feature then reach out to us at [email protected].
The big September update for 2022 now allows our enterprise users to customise their task statuses. This lets you add, edit and delete the statuses based on your team’s workflow. You can make these changes from the org level under “Manage Org”.
But what happens to the tasks already with the status that you’re planning to delete? Worry not, as you would not have to manually update their statuses. Nor do you have to worry about the integrations currently mapped to that status. zipBoard automatically takes care of that. Here’s how!
Deleting existing statuses
To delete a status, you need to click on the dropdown named “Action” where you will find the option to delete.
Once a status is deleted, a pop-up will appear asking you to replace the corresponding tasks for this status with an existing status. You can see the number of issues under that status will have increased by one. This pop-up will not appear if you’ve assigned no tasks to this status.
This step is to ensure that no tasks are left statusless. This also makes sure your integrations automatically map them with the replaced statuses.
Note: You will see that four statuses are checkmarked. These are the minimum number of statuses you must have and cannot be deleted. These statuses can however be edited as you like.
Important: What happens if the status that you delete is the ONLY status that maps back to a Jira/Wrike status? In this case, you’ll see a pop-up in the project asking you to re-map the Jira/Wrike status that no longer has any affiliation. Click here, to learn how the mapping works.
This video below explains this entire process in-depth: